2018 Grassroots Football Awards Winners

Cumberland FA Names Local Grassroots Football Award Winners

Cumberland FA has selected local recipients of The FA and McDonald’s Grassroots Football Awards 2018.

The Grassroots Football Awards, known previously as the Respect Awards, recognise and celebrate the work of individuals and groups to instill The FA’s PRIDE values – Progressive, Respectful, Inclusive, Determination and Excellent – and make a positive difference in their club, league or local community.

Following receipt of a record 2,904 nominations, The FA has worked alongside respective County FAs to select appropriate winners across the categories. The full list of Cumberland FA Grassroots Football Awards 2018 winners are:

• Coach of the Year: Craig Johnston (Workington Junior Football Club)
• Community Project of the Year: Dementia Walking Football
• Charter Standard Club of the Year: Crusaders JFC
• Match Official of the Year: Ben Kinnersley
• Volunteer of the Year: Paul Allen (Thompsons JFC Pan Disability) 
• Youth Volunteer of the Year: Conor Cooke (Cockermouth Junior Football Club)

Greg Clarke, Chairman of The FA, said: "It’s been fantastic to see a record number of nominations for this year’s Grassroots Football Awards and hear so many stories of dedication and commitment throughout the grassroots game.

"The selection of winners chosen alongside Cumberland FA represents the diverse nature of football in this country and I would like to congratulate each and every one for their inspirational work."

Ben Snowdon, Chief Executive of Cumberland FA, said: “Each year the awards celebrate the hard work and dedication of local grassroots volunteers across Cumberland who make a difference to local communities. Without these volunteers, grassroots football in Cumberland simply wouldn't exist. At the County FA, we appreciate every single member of our grassroots workforce and congratulate all of our nominated individuals, leagues and clubs - especially our deserving winners.”

To learn more about The FA and McDonald’s Grassroots Football Awards 2018, visit TheFA.com